Skip to main content
Finding online

Virtual internships in India: the five types, what each costs and what each is worth

Looking for an internship? Apply to Pledge A Smile Foundation

Short answer

Virtual internships in India come in five types: remote work for an employer, government portal listings, skilling cohorts, free job simulations and paid courses. Applying should cost nothing, and AICTE's National Internship Portal charges students ₹0. One is worth doing when a named supervisor sets real work and checks it, whatever the certificate says.

Updated
26 September 2026
Sources checked
25 September 2026
Read
10 min
Sources
10
A volunteer in an orange dupatta laughs while handing a bag and bottle to a man in a red jersey.
From the foundation’s archive · SEVA ▪ 2023

What does "virtual internship" mean on an Indian listing?

The National Internship Portal run by AICTE, the All India Council for Technical Education, carries a filter called "Remote & Hybrid", described as "Work from your hostel room", and it says ministries, PSUs, state governments, company teams and skilling foundations all post on the same wall. Internshala's work-from-home board had 2,330 openings on the day it was read, 25 September 2026. The same two words cover five different arrangements.

An online intern can be doing paid work for a company, a government-listed project, a training track, a two-hour exercise or a course they paid for. Each type is decoded here on the same four fields: who sets the work, what you pay, whether there is a stipend, and what the certificate records.

TypeWho sets the workWhat you payStipendWhat the certificate records
1. Remote internship with an employerThe employer's supervisorNothing to apply on boards that ban feesRequired on Internshala, with exceptionsWhatever the employer writes
2. Government portal listingThe host organisation₹0 on the AICTE portal; some Skill India Digital Hub listings carry a feeDeclared on the listingIssuing ministry, organisation and exact period, behind a QR code
3. Virtual skilling cohortA training track built around projectsNot stated on the portal listingNot stated on the portal listingAsk before you enrol
4. Free job simulationPre-set tasks, checked against model answersNothingNoneTasks completed, measured in hours
5. Paid course called an internshipA syllabusA course feeNoneCourse completion

Type 1: is a remote internship with an employer paid?

On Internshala it has to be, unless the host is an NGO or NPO, a government agency, or a law or legal research profile. The board's terms set a minimum stipend of "Rs. 1000/Month" for a work from home internship and "Rs. 2000/Month" for an in-office one. These are Internshala's own posting rules, and a direct offer or another board can set different terms.

The exact wording is that Internshala does not allow "Unpaid internships, except for NGOs/NPOs, government agencies & niche internship profiles (Law/Legal & Legal Research)". So an unpaid remote role at a charity can be perfectly within the rules, while an unpaid one at a startup should make you ask why.

The first results page of its work-from-home board, read on 25 September 2026, carried 50 listings. Twelve said "Unpaid" and 38 named a stipend. The monthly ones ran from ₹1,000 to 1,100 a month at the low end to ₹25,000 to 40,000 a month at the top; one was quoted per week and one as a lump sum. That is one page on one day, not an average.

Decoded: the employer sets and checks the work. You pay nothing to apply, since the same terms bar programmes that ask applicants for a deposit or an admission fee. The certificate records whatever the employer chooses to write, so ask at the offer stage that it will name your role, your dates and a signatory who answers email.

Type 2: what do government portals list as remote internships?

The AICTE portal lists remote and hybrid openings alongside office-based ones, and charges a student nothing, ₹0, for registering, applying, being shortlisted or getting the completion certificate. A payment demand from any website, agent or "placement consultant" for applying through the portal is, in its words, "a scam", and it asks you to report one to [email protected].

Decoded: the host organisation sets the work. You pay ₹0. The portal promises stipends are "declared upfront", with payment going into the intern's bank account, so the listing itself tells you whether there is one. The certificate is described as "government-issued" and carries a QR code; scanning it brings up a verification page with "the issuing ministry, the organisation and the exact period".

A second government portal works differently. The Skill India Digital Hub internship page, read on 25 September 2026, filters by "Internship Fee" with two values, "Free" and "Paid", and its only mode is "Online". Of the 12 listings on its first page that day, three were tagged Paid and nine Free, running 1 to 3 months. Check each listing's fee tag before you apply.

Formats on the AICTE portal run weekly (1 to 4 weeks), monthly (1 to 6 months) and by semester (6 months or more). The portal also promises "credits into your ABC (Academic Bank of Credits) account", though what your own degree accepts is a separate question. Registration, click by click, is in the National Internship Portal walkthrough.

Type 3: what is a virtual skilling cohort, and is it an internship?

A virtual skilling cohort is a structured training track, with a project at the end, that the AICTE portal files among its internships. Its EduSkills entry reads "An AICTE skilling partner running virtual cohorts with global technology companies", where "Interns take a cloud, AI, data or cybersecurity track with a final project". Whether it is an internship depends on who assesses that project.

The MathWorks entry on the same portal is for "The MATLAB and Simulink Virtual Internship Programme", described as "Fully online and open to any AICTE-registered student", with interns working "through modelling, simulation and AI projects". Check what "AICTE-registered" means for your college before you plan around it.

Decoded: the track sets most of the work, and a final project closes it. Neither portal entry states a fee, a stipend or a duration, so read the programme's own terms before you enrol.

Ask one more thing: whether the certificate records a track completed or a project that a named person assessed. The second is closer to what a college means by an internship. A portal listing does not settle credit on its own, since the AICTE Internship Policy has a faculty mentor, the TPO or an industry supervisor evaluate the report.

Type 4: are job simulations sold as a free virtual internship with certificate worth doing?

They are worth a few hours as a preview of a job, as long as you do not call them an internship. Forage says "Job simulations are 100% free, open access and self-paced". Its page lists "Over 250 job simulations and 90+ employers". The simulations on its home page take between "30-60 mins" and "4-5 hours".

Decoded: the tasks are fixed in advance and "replicate real work", and Forage describes the check as comparing your own work against model answers, after which a certificate is issued. You pay nothing and there is no stipend. The certificate records that you finished a set of tasks. On a resume that belongs under projects or certifications, next to what you produced.

Another free site describes its virtual internships as "real job simulations", says "No fees, no experience needed. Get an instant offer letter, complete weekly tasks with expert guidance", and states that the offer letter arrives "instantly on email". Whichever site you use, ask who will check your work before you list it as an internship.

Free job simulations are one of four products sold as free internships with certificates, and the others work differently again.

Type 5: when is a "virtual internship" really a course you pay for?

When it has a syllabus, a length in weeks and a fee, it is a course, whatever the listing calls it. Internshala's training site sells "CERTIFICATION COURSES" of "4-8 weeks" with an "Industry recognised certificate", and its banner advertises a discount "on all Certification courses".

The same company's internship board bars "Training programs and any such program where Applicants are expected to pay a security deposit or an admission fee". That line works as a test anywhere. A registration, training or certificate fee asked before you start work marks a course, or a scam, and the guide to internship fee scams shows how the second one runs.

A placement fee is a different cost again. One international placement agency's page for remote internships hosted out of India lists "US$1,099" for 100 hours, "US$1,499" for 250 hours and "US$1,799" for 350 hours, asks a "US$499" deposit to secure a place, and says its internships are unpaid. The page says the fee covers arranging the remote placement, its learning curriculum and support before, during and after the internship.

Decoded: the syllabus sets the work, you pay the fee, there is no stipend, and the certificate records course completion. Why the label drifts from course to internship so often is argued in the guide on why a virtual internship usually means a course.

Which virtual internship for students fits you? Six routes judged on the same five criteria

Pick the route whose checker you can name. The five types above are joined by a sixth route, applying straight to a non-profit's own programme, and each is judged on five criteria: who sets and checks the work, what it costs you, whether there is a stipend, what the certificate records, and whether subject-specific technical skills are taught.

  • Remote internship through a listing board. An employer sets and checks the work, and applying costs nothing on Internshala, whose terms bar deposits and admission fees. A stipend of at least Rs. 1000 a month applies there unless the host is an NGO, a government agency or a legal profile. The certificate says what the employer writes. Technical skills depend entirely on the role you pick.
  • Government portal listing. The host organisation sets the work and the AICTE portal charges students ₹0, though some Skill India Digital Hub listings are tagged Paid. Any stipend is declared on the listing. The certificate carries a QR code that shows the issuing ministry, organisation and period to anyone who scans it. Technical skills depend on the posting, and the portal carries engineering, data and cyber roles next to rural and urban missions.
  • Virtual skilling cohort. A partner's track sets the work, built around projects, with a final project in the EduSkills entry. The portal entries state no fee, stipend or duration, so those need checking on the programme's own page. What the certificate records needs asking too. It does teach subject-specific technical skills, in cloud, AI, data, cybersecurity or MATLAB, which is its strongest criterion.
  • Free job simulation. Tasks are fixed in advance and you check yourself against model answers, so no named person vouches for your work. It costs nothing and pays nothing. The certificate records a few hours of completed tasks. It gives a taste of a field's work, such as consulting or banking, rather than training in it, and it loses on who checks the work.
  • Paid course. A syllabus sets the work, you pay a fee, and there is no stipend. The certificate records completion of 4 to 8 weeks of study on the training site above. It can teach subject-specific technical skills, which is the reason to buy one. It loses on cost and on having nobody who supervised real work.
  • Applying directly to a non-profit's own programme. Pledge A Smile Foundation (the publisher of this guide) runs an online internship that is open to students of any stream and free to apply to and to do. Interns own a weekly target, send a weekly report and get feedback on it. There is a performance-based stipend and a certificate on completion. It does not teach subject-specific technical skills.

Where your degree needs a technical skill on the record, a skilling cohort or a technical employer role meets that criterion. If it needs a supervisor who will answer a recruiter's email, the employer, portal and non-profit routes are the ones that have one.

Will your college count a virtual internship?

It can, and your college decides. The AICTE Internship Policy: Guidelines & Procedures credit table puts internships with industry, government, NGOs, PSUs and small or medium enterprises in one row with "Online Internship", worth up to 4 to 6 credits, with a report as the evidence, evaluated by a faculty mentor, the TPO or an industry supervisor.

The UGC's Guidelines for Internship/Research Internship for Under Graduate Students (2023) go further: a student who cannot land an in-person placement should get a digital or group option from the host institute, in its phrase "a provision for digital or group internship". Its mentors guide students "digitally or physically" and check and validate each intern's performance every fortnight.

Both documents describe supervised work assessed through a report. A simulation certificate or a course certificate fits that description only if your department decides it does. Get approval in writing first, since the UGC guidelines have the student get due permission from their parent institution first. The credit route for online work is set out in the guide to UGC credit for online internships.

Which formats suit which year of study is covered in the guide to internships by year, course and format.

Key points
  • 1Internshala's terms set a minimum work from home stipend of Rs. 1000/Month and allow unpaid internships only at NGOs/NPOs, government agencies and legal profiles; the board sets that rule for its own listings.
  • 2AICTE's National Internship Portal charges students ₹0 and calls any request for payment to apply through it a scam.
  • 3Job simulations on Forage are free, self-paced and take hours, from 30 to 60 minutes up to 4 to 5 hours; they belong under projects on a resume.
  • 4A listing with a syllabus, a length in weeks and a fee is a course, whatever it is called.
  • 5AICTE's policy counts an online internship for up to 4 to 6 credits, assessed through a report; the college decides.
Common questions
Do free virtual internships charge anything later?

They should not. AICTE's National Internship Portal charges students ₹0 for registration, applications and the certificate, and Internshala's terms bar programmes where applicants pay a security deposit or an admission fee. Free to apply does not mean a stipend: on one results page of Internshala's work-from-home board on 25 September 2026, 12 of 50 listings said Unpaid.

Is a virtual internship certificate valid?

It is valid for credit when your college accepts the work behind it. The AICTE Internship Policy assesses an online internship through the student's report, evaluated by a faculty mentor, the TPO or an industry supervisor, for up to 4 to 6 credits. A certificate from AICTE's National Internship Portal also carries a QR code naming the issuing ministry, the organisation and the exact period.

Can a first-year student do a virtual internship?

Yes for the open types: Forage describes its simulations as open access. Credit is another matter. AICTE's policy table suggests institutional activities after the 2nd semester and places internships with industry, NGOs or online hosts after the 4th or 6th, so ask your department before counting a first-year role.

What does an online intern do in a week?

Whatever tasks the listing names. One work-from-home HR listing on Internshala on 25 September 2026 began its task list with "Update and maintain internal HR databases and employee records." Under UGC's 2023 guidelines, a mentor checks and validates an intern's performance fortnightly, which sets the rhythm of reporting.

Is a job simulation the same as an internship on a resume?

No. A simulation on Forage takes from 30 to 60 minutes up to 4 to 5 hours and is checked against model answers, with no supervisor. List it under projects or certifications with what you produced, for example "[Employer] strategy consulting job simulation: market sizing model, 4 to 5 hours", and keep the internship heading for supervised work.

Sources

Every rule above links to the document that states it. The full list, with the date each was last opened:

  1. 1AICTE National Internship Portalinternship.aicte-india.org · checked 25 September 2026
  2. 2Internshala, work from home internships listinginternshala.com · checked 25 September 2026
  3. 3Internshala Terms and Conditionsinternshala.com · checked 25 September 2026
  4. 4Forage home pagetheforage.com · checked 25 September 2026
  5. 5Internshala Trainings home pagetrainings.internshala.com · checked 25 September 2026
  6. 6AICTE Internship Policy: Guidelines & Procedures, p. 8aicte-india.org · checked 25 September 2026
  7. 7UGC Guidelines for Internship/Research Internship for Under Graduate Students (2023), section 7.0ugc.gov.in · checked 25 September 2026
  8. 8Skill India Digital Hub, Internshipsskillindiadigital.gov.in · checked 25 September 2026
  9. 9Intern Abroad HQ, Remote internships out of Indiainternhq.com · checked 25 September 2026
  10. 10YuvaIntern home pageyuvaintern.com · checked 25 September 2026
Looking for an internship yourself?

Pledge A Smile Foundation takes interns from anywhere in India.

A registered Section 8 non-profit. The programme is remote, open to students with no prior experience, and free to apply to.

See the internship and how to apply