MSW Fieldwork Hours: What Five Universities Put in Writing
Short answer
No national rule fixes fieldwork hours for the Master of Social Work (MSW) in India. Pondicherry University and the Tata Institute of Social Sciences (TISS) Mumbai each require two days and about 15 hours of concurrent field work a week; Jamia Millia Islamia lists 15 weekly engagement hours covering teaching and field work together. Pondicherry sets a 225-hour semester minimum.
- Updated
- 22 August 2026
- Sources checked
- 22 August 2026
- Read
- 11 min
- Sources
- 9

How many hours a week does MSW fieldwork take?
Fifteen hours across two days a week, at the three campus departments that publish a weekly figure. Pondicherry University and the Tata Institute of Social Sciences (TISS) Mumbai both state fifteen hours of field work; Jamia Millia Islamia lists fifteen weekly engagement hours against each concurrent paper. No national regulation sets that number.
| Institution | Days a week | Weekly hours |
|---|---|---|
| Pondicherry University, MSW syllabus from July 2025 | Two | Minimum 15, at 9 per field work day |
| Jamia Millia Islamia, M.A. Social Work | Twice | 15 weekly engagement hours; 6 to 8 hours a day in the field |
| TISS Mumbai, M.A. Social Work, first year | Two specified days | Fifteen |
| University of Delhi, M.A. Social Work | Set by the Field Work Unit | Not published on the department page |
Pondicherry writes the rule as a schedule. Its MSW syllabus for July 2025 onwards puts students at their agency twice a week for nine hours per field work day, with a floor of fifteen hours every week.
Those two numbers reconcile exactly. The nine hours include 1.5 hours for writing the field work report, so each day carries 7.5 hours in the field and the two days come to the fifteen-hour minimum. Fifteen is field contact; eighteen is time at the agency with report writing included, and the 225-hour semester minimum is built from the fifteen.
One clause leaves room to argue. The syllabus adds that in calculating the fieldwork hours, the time students spend writing the fieldwork reports may also be considered, which would let writing count toward the 225 instead of sitting on top of it. Ask your unit which reading it applies.
Jamia's figure is the one to read carefully. Its field work manual for the M.A. in Social Work puts 15 against each Field Work (Concurrent) paper in a Weekly Engagement hours column, footnoted as including both teaching and field work hours. The manual's own field rule is stated separately: six to eight hours a day, twice a week, on the agency's working hours.
The School of Social Work at TISS Mumbai describes first-year field work as fifteen hours over two specified days a week with the organisation a student has been placed at, running alongside classroom inputs.
Where the fifteen-hour week came from is unclear. Pondicherry's syllabus attributes its infrastructure norms, its faculty-student ratio and the components of its field work programme to the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) Manual for Self-Study of Social Work Institutions, October 2005. That manual is not among the publications listed on the NAAC resources page and could not be opened, so the attribution stands as Pondicherry's own, not as a verified national norm.
Hour counts set centrally rather than campus by campus do exist elsewhere in mandated service, and the hour rules behind the NSS certificate cover the best-known of them.
What is the MSW field work minimum for a single semester?
Pondicherry University is the only department here that states a semester minimum for MSW field work: 225 hours, written as 15 hours a week across 15 weeks and completed in about 28 to 32 agency visits. It applies to concurrent field work, and the syllabus calls those 225 hours mandatory for the assessment. No other syllabus or manual reviewed here converts a weekly requirement into a semester floor.
The first semester is not built the same way. Fieldwork-I at Pondicherry is made of ten arranged agency exposure visits, a group project and the rural camp, so a student in semester one is not on a continuous agency placement at all.
If Fieldwork-II, III and IV each carry the full 225-hour minimum, which the syllabus does not state, that gives 675 hours. The 25-day block placement, the camp and the five-day orientation programme sit on top of it.
How many days is the block placement, and does every MSW have one?
Twenty-five to thirty days where it exists, and it does not exist everywhere. Pondicherry runs block field work of twenty-five days including travelling. IGNOU requires 30 continuous days. Jamia has no block placement and runs a ten-day rural camp instead, and Delhi's department page describes neither.
| Institution | Block placement | Camp |
|---|---|---|
| Pondicherry University | 25 days including travelling, at the end of semester III or start of IV, December-January | 5-day rural or tribal camp, compulsory |
| Jamia Millia Islamia | None | 10 days in semester II, 100 marks, 4 credits |
| TISS Mumbai | Second-year field work is programme specific, across the two semesters of year two | Not stated on the fieldwork page |
| University of Delhi | Not stated | Not stated |
| IGNOU | 30 continuous days, in a different organisation, after Social Work Practicum-I | None |
Pondicherry's own page is not internally consistent here. The course entry gives twenty-five days including travelling, while its process section says students are placed continuously for a period of one month. Confirm which figure your department applies before booking travel or rent around it.
The same syllabus hangs the whole block on one piece of paper. A joining intimation in the prescribed format, countersigned by the agency supervisor, has to reach the department within seven days of the student joining, and a student who misses that window repeats the block field work. Fortnightly reports run on the same signature chain.
TISS is a gap rather than a nil return. Its fieldwork page states that the details of the second year fieldwork are available on the respective Centre's website, and that placements are anchored by eight centres. The missing second-year number is published by the centre a student joins, not by the School.
Delhi's M.A. page names a Field Work Practicum module and an attendance rule but no residential component. It is a programme summary rather than a field work manual, so read the silence as unpublished rather than as proof the department runs neither.
What does MSW field work add up to over two years?
Only Jamia Millia Islamia publishes a two-year field work hour total for its master's in social work. The highlights page of its field work manual prints 800+ fieldwork hours, 56 hours of individual mentoring and 10 days of rural camp. Every other two-year figure below is a credit conversion or a partial sum, not a number the university itself states.
| Institution | Field work credits | Published hour total |
|---|---|---|
| Jamia Millia Islamia | 32 concurrent, of 118 | 800+ hours, published |
| University of Delhi | Over 36, of 100 | None published; ~1,080+ (UG credit convention, not a DU figure) |
| TISS Mumbai | 24, split 12 and 12 | None published; ~720 (UG credit convention, not a TISS figure) |
| Pondicherry University | 20, of 84 | None published; 675 (unstated assumption, not a Pondicherry figure) |
| IGNOU | 32, of 72 | None; the programme counts days, not hours |
Three rows carry detail the cells leave out. Jamia's field work credits rise to 40 once the rural camp and the vivas are added, and its published total sits alongside 56 hours of individual mentoring. The 24 credits at TISS are about 28 per cent of the whole curriculum. IGNOU's days are 45 concurrent plus 45 concurrent again, 30 block days, and the internship on top.
Read every converted figure as an order of magnitude rather than a like-for-like comparison. It runs on a credit conversion the UGC wrote for undergraduate programmes, applied here to a postgraduate degree. The Pondicherry row is the softest of the set. Its 675 is three semesters at Pondicherry's 225-hour concurrent minimum, a minimum the syllabus never states applies to Fieldwork-II, III or IV.
A degree that publishes no hour total is not peculiar to social work. School-level service requirements can work the same way, and the question of whether IB CAS sets a minimum number of hours turns on documents that publish no figure either.
Does the UGC prescribe field work hours for the MSW?
No. The University Grants Commission's (UGC) Minimum Standards of Instruction for the Grant of Undergraduate Degree and Postgraduate Degree Regulations, 2025, notified on 26 March 2025 and published in the Gazette of India on 2 April 2025, leave each institution to decide its own minimum attendance requirement with the approval of its statutory bodies.
They also leave the weightage given to fieldwork in evaluation to the appropriate academic body of the university. Those regulations supersede the 2003 minimum standards for the master's degree, and they define a credit as the hours of instruction required per week over a semester, as set out in the National Credit Framework.
The conversion most often quoted comes from a different document, the UGC's Curriculum and Credit Framework for Undergraduate Programmes: one credit of practicum, community engagement or fieldwork means a two-hour engagement per week, equivalent to 30 hours across a 15-week semester.
Put Delhi's 36 field work credits and above through that conversion and you get roughly 1,080 hours or more; put the 24 credits at TISS through it and you get 720. The framework is written for undergraduate programmes and the UGC maintains a separate one for postgraduate study, so treat 30 hours per credit as the convention your department probably used rather than a rule binding it.
What does MSW field work cost, and does travel time count inside the hours?
Report writing counts at Pondicherry, travel does not, and the student pays. Its rules allow nine hours per field work day including 1.5 hours for writing the field work report, state that writing time may be counted, exclude travelling time from the total, and require students to bear the expenses of field work themselves.
That distinction decides how far from campus you can afford to be placed. Ninety minutes of commuting each way costs three hours a day that Pondicherry's rules will not credit you for, and none of the other four documents says travel counts either way.
The same syllabus puts the rural camp, study tours and extension work on the student's own account. No syllabus or manual cited here mentions a stipend from the host agency; field work is graded coursework carrying credits, not paid employment.
What is the MSW field work attendance floor you cannot go below?
Seventy-five per cent per component at Jamia Millia Islamia, 90 per cent strictly for the field practicum at the University of Delhi, and 100 per cent at Pondicherry University, which calls full attendance mandatory and schedules extra field work to cover absence. Below the line, an MSW student can be failed in field work and kept out of the theory examinations.
| Institution | Threshold | What happens below it |
|---|---|---|
| Jamia Millia Islamia | 75 per cent, and 90 per cent, in any field work component | Below 75: ineligible for evaluation, barred from theory papers, semester failed. Below 90: evaluation may suffer |
| University of Delhi | 90 per cent for the field practicum, 75 for classes | Barred from evaluation and final examinations |
| Pondicherry University | 100 per cent, described as mandatory | Extra field work scheduled to cover the absence |
Jamia's leave rule is a separate provision, not a consequence of falling below either threshold: its manual permits leave for only 10 per cent of the scheduled field work days in a semester.
The Department of Social Work at the University of Delhi is the clearest case of the two-tier rule: a student can hold the 75 per cent that keeps them in the classroom and still be short of the 90 per cent that keeps them in the field practicum.
Does a distance-mode MSW count field work the same way?
It counts days instead of hours. The Indira Gandhi National Open University's (IGNOU) MSW course structure runs to 72 credits, of which four practical courses of eight credits each carry the field work: concurrent fieldwork for 45 days in Social Work Practicum-I, a block placement, another 45 days in Practicum-II, and an internship.
That internship is built around an agency profile and a community profile. The block placement must run continuously for 30 days, in a different organisation from the one used for the first practicum, while the concurrent component may be spread over a period to suit the learner.
Social work is absent from the Distance Education Bureau's list of programmes prohibited under the UGC (Open and Distance Learning Programmes and Online Programmes) Regulations, 2020, which is why an MSW can be taken this way while engineering, pharmacy and law cannot.
What if your own university publishes no MSW field work hours at all?
Ask the field work unit for the figure in writing and keep the reply. Every department cited above publishes its rules. Many departments do not: a state or affiliated college often puts out neither a field work manual nor an hour figure. Four well-resourced departments plus one open university is not the typical Indian MSW.
Put three things in that email: the hour or day figure for each semester, the ordinance or syllabus clause that fixes it, and the year that document takes effect. A written answer is what you will have to point at if the count is disputed at evaluation.
Where the paperwork does exist, ask for four documents:
- the field work manual, which holds hours per day, leave and attendance rules, and the format your field work diary has to follow
- the syllabus for your year of admission, which holds credits and block placement length
- the academic calendar, which marks which weeks are field work weeks and which are not
- the placement schedule
Match the year, because these documents are dated. Pondicherry's syllabus is labelled July 2025 onwards and Jamia's course outline runs with effect from 2019, so a senior's photocopy can describe a slightly different degree from yours.
Then work the number backwards before you accept an agency. Fifteen hours a week over two fixed days needs a supervisor who is present on both, so ask the organisation which days it can supervise and get the answer before the unit confirms your placement. The unit decides what makes an organisation eligible to host field work students, so raise a doubtful agency with it early rather than after you have started.
- 1No UGC regulation fixes a field work hour total for the MSW. The 2025 minimum standards regulations hand the minimum attendance requirement to each institution, subject to clearance by its own statutory bodies, and leave the evaluation weightage of fieldwork to the university's academic body.
- 2Pondicherry University's 2025 MSW syllabus sets 225 hours as the concurrent field work minimum for a semester. Nine hours a day includes 1.5 hours of report writing, so the two fixed days give exactly the mandatory fifteen field hours.
- 3Two days a week and 15 hours a week recur at Pondicherry University, Jamia Millia Islamia and TISS Mumbai. Pondicherry and TISS state 15 hours of field work; Jamia's 15 sits in a weekly engagement column its manual footnotes as teaching plus field work combined. Jamia separately publishes an overall figure of more than 800 field work hours.
- 4Block placements run 25 days at Pondicherry and 30 continuous days at IGNOU, while Jamia has none and uses a 10-day rural camp instead; Delhi's department page states neither.
- 5Attendance shortfalls carry real cost: a Jamia student below 75 per cent in any single field work component is ruled ineligible for evaluation and cannot sit the theory papers for that semester.
What happens to your hours if the placement agency shuts or stops hosting students mid-semester?
No document cited here sets a rule for it. A full-text reading of the Pondicherry University syllabus and the Jamia Millia Islamia field work manual turns up no clause on an agency closing, withdrawing or being replaced mid-placement. The hour requirement does not soften either way: Pondicherry calls its 225 hours mandatory for the assessment and requires additional field work to be planned and scheduled for absence on any count. Report the closure to your field work unit in writing the week it happens, so the lost days are on record well before evaluation.
Does the rural camp count towards field work?
Yes at the departments that run one. Jamia treats the ten-day rural camp as a field work component worth 100 marks and four credits, with field work attendance conditions applying to it. Pondicherry makes a five-day rural or tribal camp compulsory in the second semester and evaluates it by viva voce along with observation visits and group projects.
Can a campus placement or a job count as your block placement?
At Pondicherry University it can. Its syllabus lets the block placement component be completed as part of a student's employment where the student gets a campus placement and reports to the organisation at an earlier date, on condition that the semester examinations are still written when the department schedules them. The Jamia Millia Islamia manual carries no equivalent provision, and IGNOU pulls the other way by requiring its block placement in a different organisation from the one used for the first practicum.
If you are held back for incomplete field work, do you redo the placement the following year?
At Jamia Millia Islamia the answer turns on which semester you were in. The manual has the department notify students who have not completed the field work requirements, and those students cannot continue the semester or sit its theory papers. A first-semester student then has to seek readmission as a fresh candidate the next year. A student in semesters II, III or IV may instead be readmitted to the corresponding semester the following year, provided the earlier semesters are passed or the programme's promotion rules cover them.
How many hours of individual mentoring count toward MSW field work?
It varies, but two departments quantify it. Pondicherry times individual conferences at half an hour a week plus a monthly group conference, both timetabled; Jamia counts 56 hours of individual mentoring across the whole M.A. programme and treats each conference as a field work component with its own attendance requirement.
Can I stay at the same organisation for all four semesters?
Usually not all four. Jamia Millia Islamia's manual continues first-semester students in the same organisation for the second semester, then places them in a specialisation agency for the third, where the manual says the placement will ordinarily remain the same through the fourth. IGNOU goes further and requires its block placement to be done in a different organisation from the one where the first practicum was completed. Your field work manual decides this, not the agency.
Is field work shorter in a one-year MSW?
Pondicherry University offers a one-year, two-semester MSW for graduates of a four-year Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) (Honours) degree, a route clause 11.5 of the UGC's 2025 regulations opens to students who have completed a four-year undergraduate degree with Honours or Honours with Research. The syllabus does not separately state a field work hour total for that route, so ask the department for the figure in writing rather than halving the two-year number.
Every rule above links to the document that states it. The full list, with the date each was last opened:
- 1Department of Social Work, Pondicherry University, Master of Social Work Syllabus, July 2025 onwardspondiuni.edu.in · checked 21 August 2026
- 2Department of Social Work, Jamia Millia Islamia, Fieldwork Manual of MA Social Work (2018), Course Highlights and Annexure 5jmi.ac.in · checked 21 August 2026
- 3School of Social Work, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai: Fieldworktiss.ac.in · checked 22 August 2026
- 4Department of Social Work, University of Delhi: M.A. Programmesocialwork.du.ac.in · checked 21 August 2026
- 5Indira Gandhi National Open University, Master of Social Work (MSW) programme structureignou.ac.in · checked 22 August 2026
- 6Gazette of India, Extraordinary, Part III Section 4, No. 271, 2 April 2025 (UGC Notification of 26 March 2025)egazette.gov.in · checked 21 August 2026
- 7University Grants Commission, Curriculum and Credit Framework for Undergraduate Programmes, section 3.2.4 (Credit hours for different types of courses)ugc.gov.in · checked 21 August 2026
- 8Distance Education Bureau, UGC: Programmes prohibited through Regulation 2020deb.ugc.ac.in · checked 21 August 2026
- 9National Assessment and Accreditation Council, Resources (publications listing); attribution recorded in the Pondicherry University MSW Syllabus 2025naac.gov.in · checked 22 August 2026
Pledge A Smile Foundation takes interns from anywhere in India.
A registered Section 8 non-profit. The programme is remote, open to students with no prior experience, and free to apply to.
See the internship and how to applyMore from fieldwork & nss
Fieldwork & NSSWhat Makes an Organisation Eligible to Host MSW Field Work StudentsThe university's social work department decides whether an organisation can host MSW field work students. Four published manuals show where departments agree and where they part company.11 min read · 19 sourced claims
Fieldwork & NSSMSW Field Work Diary Format: How to Write Each EntryA worked specimen entry, the difference between process and summary recording, and who at your department decides each of them. Drawn from the field work manuals of IGNOU, Jamia Millia Islamia, the University of Madras and Loyola College, and from Pondicherry University's 2025 MSW syllabus.14 min read · 24 sourced claims
Fieldwork & NSSNSS Certificate Hours: Where 120, 240 and the Camp FitThe 120-versus-240 confusion settled from the NSS Manual and the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports Annual Report, clause by clause. Then the camp length two official documents disagree on, where the hours have to be written down, and what the certificate itself records.11 min read · 27 sourced claims