Skip to main content
Applying & starting

How many hours a week should an online internship take? What listings say, and what to agree first

Short answer

It depends on the listing. Internshala publishes no weekly-hours policy; each posting states its own. The one number in the academic framework applies only to AICTE-approved technical programmes: the AICTE Internship Policy puts 45 hours of work behind a single credit and describes a full-time intern as working 45 hours a week. Agree yours in writing first.

Updated
19 September 2026
Sources checked
19 September 2026
Read
7 min
Sources
4
A volunteer in a beanie hands a folded blanket to an older man and woman — a genuine unposed handover.
From the foundation’s archive · RAAHAT ▪ 2025

What is a normal weekly time commitment for an online internship?

Internshala carried more than 7,000 internships when checked on 19 September 2026, and the platform publishes no weekly-hours policy governing them. Each posting states its own. The one fixed reference point in the published documents is academic. The AICTE Internship Policy puts 45 hours of work behind a single credit, and describes someone interning full-time as putting 45 hours a week into it.

That gap between listing-by-listing hours and a national credit formula is why the number has to be agreed before you start, not assumed from the internship's title.

What do internship listing platforms themselves say about hours?

Internshala's own filters split internships by duration, from one month up to 36 months, and by mode, including work from home and part-time. The platform publishes no universal hours-per-week policy across listings. That number lives inside each individual posting, set by the hiring organisation.

So the answer to "how many hours is a part-time internship" is whatever that particular posting states, and you do not have it until you have read the posting's own line on hours. Two internships both labelled part-time can specify different weekly hours entirely.

What does a stated internship agreement look like, in practice?

Some organisations publish a fixed minimum, such as a set number of hours a day over a minimum number of weeks. Others ask you to state how many hours a week you can commit, and build the schedule around your answer instead. CRY runs both structures side by side, an internship track with a stated hours-and-duration minimum and a volunteering track built around the hours you say you have; the comparison is worked through in the guide to comparing internship offers against each other.

Where an organisation runs both, read which one the listing you are looking at belongs to before agreeing to a schedule meant for the other.

How does AICTE convert hours into the credit your college recognises?

The AICTE Internship Policy treats 45 hours of work as the floor for one credit, and describes a full-time intern as putting 45 hours a week into internship, training, project work or seminar activity. Under its suggested framework, 14 to 20 credits of internship and related activity may be counted toward the B.Tech or B.E. programme, which at 45 hours each adds up to at least 630 hours; a three-year diploma programme counts 10 to 14 credits, a minimum of about 450 hours.

Outside AICTE's technical colleges, the University Grants Commission's Curriculum and Credit Framework for Undergraduate Programmes uses a different ratio. It treats one credit of internship, seminar, studio or field activity as two hours of engagement a week, which works out to 30 hours over a 15 week semester, and it sets summer internship or apprenticeship at 2 to 4 credits within the minimum requirement for undergraduate degrees generally.

AICTE's 45 hours and UGC's 30 hours are both real; which one applies depends on which framework your college follows.

The policy also sets a leave norm for a credited internship: a student is eligible for one day of leave in a four-week internship and two days of leave in a six-week internship, apart from holidays and weekly offs. If your college is granting credit against AICTE's framework, this is the leave allowance it is likely applying, not a separate rule your supervisor invents.

None of this converts automatically. A remote internship's stated weekly hours become credit only if your institute has approved this particular internship, and in AICTE's own procedure the no-objection certificate is issued by the training and placement cell at your institute before the final offer letter, which is before you join. Two students doing internships of identical length can end up with different credit if only one arranged that approval first.

What happens if the hours you work drift from what you agreed?

Where an internship is being credited, the drift shows up in the evaluation. Under AICTE's policy the host organisation rates you on whether you turned up on time, how keen you were to learn, how well you kept the daily diary, and a skill test, then scores overall performance from 1 to 10. Hours quietly missed are recorded by the same people who write that score, so raise a shortfall with your supervisor while it is still a scheduling question.

The policy also expects an email a day ahead of any leave you take, sent to your industry supervisor and to the faculty mentor at your institute. If your college is crediting the internship, that is the standard it is likely to apply.

A host asking for meaningfully more than the hours in the original listing, without adjusting the stipend or the duration, has changed its own terms after you accepted them. Neither published source reviewed for this guide says what a student should then do beyond raising it with the host, so raise it early.

What should you ask before you agree to a schedule?

  1. Get the exact weekly or daily hours in writing. A verbal "a few hours a day" is not the number your college needs for credit, and it is not a number you can hold the host to later if the workload grows.
  2. Ask whether those hours are fixed to a clock or fixed to a deliverable. Some internships set specific hours, such as 10am to 1pm; others set a weekly output and leave the hours to you. Each suits a different class timetable, so check which one you are agreeing to. If you work on a device the rest of your family shares, read up on interning from a phone you share at home before you accept fixed hours.
  3. Ask directly whether the organisation expects weekend or holiday availability. Nothing in the listing and internship pages reviewed for this guide guarantees weekends off, so do not assume it from the internship being remote or part-time.
  4. Confirm in advance that your institute has approved this specific internship for credit, and at what credit value. AICTE's 45-hours-per-credit formula only applies once that approval is in place, and its procedure has the no-objection certificate coming from the training and placement cell at your institute.
  5. Ask what the leave policy is during the internship. If your college is crediting the internship under AICTE's framework, one day in a four-week internship or two days in a six-week internship is the norm it is likely using, so a host offering less is worth a direct question.
  6. Ask who handles a change in hours, and on what channel, so you are not working that out in the week the workload turns out heavier than the listing said.

What if a listing does not state hours at all?

Ask before you apply, not after you are selected. A listing that omits hours has left the term unwritten, so treat the silence as a question to put to the host rather than as an offer of flexible hours. If you do not get a straight answer on weekly hours before you accept, ask once more in writing and check what else the listing leaves unstated.

Put the answer in the same message thread you used to apply, so there is a written record of what was agreed, and repeat it back in your own words rather than only accepting a one-line reply. If your college also wants a no-objection certificate before the internship can start, our walkthrough of the college paperwork, in the order to request it covers that, and the hours you have just agreed are one of the details those documents should reflect.

What this means for a full-time college semester versus a vacation internship

AICTE's own framework treats these as different intensities of the same hour-to-credit formula. A vacation internship, done full-time over summer or winter break, can run the full 45 hours a week the policy describes as its baseline.

An internship taken alongside an ongoing semester is described in the same policy as part-time, and the policy states that AICTE's curriculum is flexible on internship duration and that institutes may schedule internships according to the availability of the opportunities. Nothing in it puts a separate weekly-hours figure on a term-time internship, so that number is set between you, the host and your institute.

None of the listing or internship pages reviewed for this guide distinguish vacation internships from term-time ones by name, so this distinction comes from the credit framework, not from the listing. If you are interning during term, say so when you ask about hours, since the answer a host gives a full-time vacation intern is not necessarily the answer meant for you.

Once the hours are settled

The practical question becomes fitting them around your timetable and coursework, which our week-by-week timetable planner for students who are also interning covers directly. For what an agreed week looks like once you have started, see how a remote internship usually unfolds from week one to the last, and for the days right after you join, what those opening days ask of you.

Key points
  • 1Internship hours are set listing by listing, not by a platform-wide rule; Internshala carried more than 7,000 internships when checked on 19 September 2026, each stating its own hours.
  • 2AICTE's policy treats internships as full-time during the summer or winter vacation and part-time during the academic session, and gives institutes flexibility to schedule the duration.
  • 3AICTE puts 45 hours of work behind one academic credit and describes a full-time intern as working 45 hours a week on credited activity.
  • 4AICTE's credited internships carry a leave allowance of one day in a four-week internship and two days in a six-week internship, apart from holidays and weekly offs.
  • 5A listing that does not state hours has not fixed the term yet, not defaulted to flexible hours; ask before you accept.
Common questions
Is 20 hours a week a normal internship commitment?

It can be, but no platform-wide rule sets it. Individual listings state their own weekly hours, so 20 hours only applies if that specific posting says so.

Do unpaid internships have different hour expectations than paid ones?

Not according to the published terms reviewed for this guide. Pay status and weekly hours are separate lines on a listing, and one does not set the other; an unpaid posting can still ask for real hours.

How many hours make a full internship credit under AICTE's rules?

AICTE puts the floor for one credit at 45 hours of work, and describes a full-time intern as working 45 hours a week on the credited activity.

Can I ask an internship host to reduce my weekly hours after I start?

You can ask; published terms reviewed for this guide do not describe a standard process for this, so raise it directly with your named contact, ask for the change in the same written thread you used to apply, and keep a copy for your own record before your college asks for one.

Do online internships expect weekend work?

None of the listing or internship pages reviewed for this guide guarantee weekends off. The answer depends on the individual listing and how it schedules deliverables, so ask the specific host directly before you start, and get whatever they say added to the same written thread you used to apply.

What is the difference between an internship's stated hours and a volunteering role's hours at the same organisation?

An internship track usually states a fixed minimum, such as a set number of hours a day over a minimum number of weeks. A volunteering track, where one exists, is often built around the hours an applicant says they have available. Check which one the specific listing belongs to, since one organisation can run both with different terms.

Sources

Every rule above links to the document that states it. The full list, with the date each was last opened:

  1. 1Internshala internship listings pageinternshala.com · checked 19 September 2026
  2. 2CRY volunteering and internships pagecry.org · checked 19 September 2026
  3. 3AICTE Internship Policy: Guidelines and Procedures (undated; filename 02.04.2019)aicte.gov.in · checked 18 September 2026
  4. 4University Grants Commission, Curriculum and Credit Framework for Undergraduate Programmesugc.gov.in · checked 19 September 2026
Looking for an internship yourself?

Pledge A Smile Foundation takes interns from anywhere in India.

A registered Section 8 non-profit. The programme is remote, open to students with no prior experience, and free to apply to.

See the internship and how to apply